Zeitpunk des todes

Discussion in 'Reach Aesthetic Maps' started by bawward, Oct 25, 2011.

1. bawward

bawward Forerunner

Zeitpunkt des todes

Hello all,

This is ZEITPUNKT DES TODES (Time of Death)

The basic principles of the map are
    -Close Encounters
    -Balanced Human/Zombie Interaction
    -To Create a CREEPY map for scaring the crap out of your friends (or wife in my case) :D

This map is very aesthetically pleasing, I'm a graduate-level Architecture major and enjoy doing things like this, Apartment 5B was my initial bar set for quality, but I never like that you couldn't really play the map. The dynamics of map design are very interesting, and here's my first shot at an Infection map.
    [​IMG]

How The Game Starts

Spawning

Zombies spawn under the village in the "sewers", locked in cages (to prevent killing each other, thereby spawning themselves above ground with the humans before intended.) Zombies come out of their "cages" after a time period of 40 seconds (so the humans can get set-up) At 40 seconds, a teleporter spawns in their cage, letting them get out and go wreak havoc!
    [​IMG]

At 35 seconds, the village square lamppost ignites, warning of the darkness coming.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

When the zombies are released, there are 4 paths to get into the city; 3 "man-hole" style exits (into alleys) or one basement door to exit from. Because of the darkness the 4 paths/exits from the sewers are marked on the ground with colors (so you can go kill your friends faster without getting lost in the dark).
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Once out of the sewers, alleys await. These are not lengthy, confusing or boring. The side walls are jogged, simulating what the growth of the city of time has done to the smooth walls and decreases sight lines and sight distance and to discourage good campers.
    [​IMG]

You then have several options as a zombie;

Run down the main alley that is populated with windows, doors, sashes, shutters, chimneys, etc.
    [​IMG]