Would you want to be an intern at 343?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by MrGreenWithAGun, Dec 20, 2015.

1. MrGreenWithAGun

MrGreenWithAGun Forerunner

Apparently I offended some people when I said that there is synergy between Forge Hub and 343 with 343's vision of having interns build maps for their game using the forge. Apparently I got in trouble with the term intern, as someone interpreted my remarks as implying that the people at Forge Hub are inferior to the devs at 343 or other studios (at least that is what I think offended them). But the word intern literally means:

a person who works as an apprentice or trainee in an occupation or profession to gain practical experience, and sometimes also to satisfy legal or other requirements for being licensed or accepted professionally.

When I was in college, I was an intern for the government. I held a top secret clearance and earned a paycheck. Apparently, that is not typical, as an intern doesn't usually receive pay. Regardless, by definition, whether there is pay involved or not, the community cartographers literally were functioning in the role of interns when they went up to 343 a month or two ago.

I can honestly say that I have had several of my maps put into the playlists over the years and I felt that I was working in the role of an intern with Bungie and 343 during those times. I was proud of my accomplishments and would never have had any offensive of someone told me I was acting in the role of an intern.

So I thought I should ask if anyone here finds it offensive to be called an intern?

InvokingTexan likes this.
  2. InvokingTexan

InvokingTexan Legendary