Race RACE TRACK EXTREME - BETA (working title)

Discussion in 'WIP - Works In Progress' started by AlexJ189, Aug 7, 2013.

1. AlexJ189

AlexJ189 Octane Racing

My first proper go at a race track for Halo 4. I've tried my hardest to make the track interesting and provide a lot of different challenges for the player to navigate; for example tight corners, a mine field, incredibly thin tracks and even a small forest. Despite this though I still feel like there is more I can add to this track. Any ideas/feedback?

Note: This track is meant to be used with the "Race V1.1" gametype made be "Synth".

Map: File Share Halo Official Site

Gametype: File Share Halo Official Site

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

#1 AlexJ189, Aug 7, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  2. Grif otaged

Grif otaged Forerunner

You should add screenshots so more people will be willing to download it.

3. AlexJ189

AlexJ189 Octane Racing

Sorry. I'm a bit of a noob on forums. I will add some now.

4. Maximus IL

Maximus IL TCOJ

I've not played race games before, so take all of this with a grain of salt. What I would suggest for improvements are:

1. Falling always equalling dying may not work as well with a map this challenging. At least 3 times I spawned right when someone else spawned, which either damaged the mongoose, kicked me off the track, or both. If you can figure out a way for falling to sometimes equal a delay (so either takes a while to drive back up to where you fell, or you fall to an alternate - but longer - path), then it would remove the respawn issues.

2. The teleporters are not oriented properly. The receiver nodes pop you out with the orientation about 120 degrees off or so.

3. Some challenges are cool, but some I wasn't sure add to the play. The ramp bunkers, in particular, just seem to pile up traffic. If that was not your intent, you may want to consider replacing them with wider paths.