Ordinance drops breaking maps?

Discussion in 'Halo and Forge Discussion' started by Gamabunta00, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Gamabunta00

Gamabunta00 Forerunner

So halo 4 seems to have lost a lot of what made Halo great, especially in the map's. I am not a great map creator nor do i have a lot of experience with studying map movement. So i wanted to get the opinion of people who do know a lot about theese things, so do you all here at Forgehub think that if ordinance overall was replaced with good old fashioned weapon spawns that the maps that 343 created would be more fun to play?

2. REMkings

REMkings BIOC
    Forge Critic Senior Member

I think both have their ups and downs. Ordnance is pretty cool in essence, and I like that you can choose your own weapons as some kind of reward for your previous kills, but I don't like how there's always an indicator on every single ordnance so not only people that know the layout and the weapon spawns and spawn timers of the map, but also noobs will be able to get those weapons. And something that really bothers me is when noobs are going triehard and use power weapons when they don't know how to use them, thus wasting them.
    Besides, in custom games it's just plain stupid having to use ordnance drops, especially in Flood and minigames.

#2 REMkings, Dec 15, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  3. theSpinCycle

theSpinCycle Halo Reach Era

I agree with REM on Personal Ordnance.

Random/Initial Ordnance vs plain spawns:
    Competitively, they both are somewhat evil - ordnance punishes you for picking up a power weapon without contention, and regular drop spawns disappear after just a couple seconds in Halo 4.. so they have to be dynamic. Which is not as effective at forcing encounters.

4. Spicy Forges

Spicy Forges Ancient