Cobalt Circuit

Discussion in 'Reach Race Maps' started by THE Fuglystick, Nov 22, 2010.

1. THE Fuglystick

THE Fuglystick Ancient

Cobalt Circuit

[​IMG]

Author: THE Fuglystick

Map Name: Forge World

Track Name: Cobalt Circuit

Average lap time: 1:05

Fastest recorded lap: 1:00

# of Checkpoints: 13

Description:
    This is my first attempt at making a track where I focused mostly on making a competitive element. This map rewards racers who know how to use their brakes and manage their acceleration/deceleration going into/out of turns. I am planning on putting this track into Bungie's forgetacular contest, son any advice/constructive criticism is very welcome. In places where you could fall off the track and be set back a significant amount of time (+5 seconds or more) I've also added death barriers as a precaution where necessary. Highlights of the track include a tunnel section underneath the main "chamber" of the track(which is set in the coliseum), as well as an idea I had about using dishes(from the forge palette) to make a turn, which I will explain in detail later. I also felt that the aesthetics on the map came out very well, and that its a beautiful map to look at, as well as race.

Pictures

The start.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

After the first section you take a ramp down to the tunnel section.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The tunnel beneath the main chamber is full of twists and turns.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This is the dish banked turn, the idea I mentioned i was toying around with earlier. I used the disc's bottom so the bank would have a inner edge and an outer edge, forcing drivers to commit to either the inner or outer lip, as sliding around the corner can be a gamble on your speed if you hit the turn the wrong way. The idea is similar to what you'll see on some SX tracks like jacksonville(you can find it on halotracks), only that it is possible to switch between the two lips of the turn if you drive right.
    [​IMG]